Frank Smith chosen as School Board member for District 3


Frank Smith is sworn in as the Greene County School Board member for District 3 by Judge Lillie Jones-Osborne

At a reconvened School Board meeting on Monday, November 29, members considered several applications and resumes for School Board member in District 3.
The post became vacant when former board member Elzora Fluker was sworn in as the Greene County Commissioner for District 3. Alabama law mandates that an elected official can hold only one county office at a time, and Fluker, by law, had to vacate the school board position when she took office as a commissioner.
Following an executive session during which the board compared the different resumes, President Leo Branch read the applicants’ names aloud one by one and asked for a nomination and a second.
Frank Smith was nominated by Lester Brown; the nomination was seconded by Morris Hardy. Leo Branch also voted for Smith, giving him three votes.
Smith was officially sworn into office on Tuesday morning, November 30, 2010, by District Judge Lillie Jones-Osborne.
Smith said that he wanted to thank everyone for their support and those who wrote letters of reference for him.
“I will do my best to perform the duties of my seat. I am looking forward to working with the other board members to move the system forward. I graduated from this school system. My children graduated and my grandchild is currently attending school here.
“Lastly, I just want to assure the people of District 3 and other districts that as a boardmember, I will do the very best I can for the children of Greene County. I’ll stand up for the children,” said Smith.
He is a graduate of Miles College in Birmingham with a BS in social work. After graduation he worked as a social worker with West Alabama Mental Health and later at Bryce Hospital in Tuscaloosa before coming to Greene County as head of the Greene County Park and Recreation Association.

Comments are closed.

