Congresswoman Terri Sewell named to House Agriculture Committee

Congresswoman Terri Sewell
Congresswomen Terri Sewell, from the Alabama 7th District was named to a position on the House Agriculture Committee today by Rep. Collin Peterson (D-MN), the Ranking Minority member of the committee.
Sewell who was elected to the Congressional seat held by Artur Davis in November 2010 joins the committee from a district that has taken leadership in the past on issues of importance to African-American farm producers.
In addition to the Agriculture Committee, Sewell was named to the Committee on Science and Technology.
Sewell joins Rep. David Scott of Atlanta and Rep. Marcia Fudge of Ohio as the third Congressional Black Caucus member on the House Agriculture Committee. There are four members of the Congressional Hispanic Caucus, led by Rep. Joe Baca (D-CA) also assigned to the committee.
In 2007-8, these two Caucuses led the successful effort to include more than 30 provisions that made the 2008 Farm Bill more equitable for all producers. Among those provisions were: allowing “late filers” in the Pigford Black Farmer class action lawsuit an opportunity to have their claims heard and addressed; mandating funding of outreach programs and supporting set asides of credit, conservation and other programs for socially disadvantaged farmers and ranchers.
Peterson said, “The Agriculture Committee oversees a wide range of issues, including farm programs, nutrition programs, crop insurance, renewable energy, conservation, commodity markets and rural development. These members bring a great deal of expertise and a commitment to addressing the challenges of those who live, work and raise their families in rural America. I look forward to working with them, along with the new majority, in this Congress.”
The Democratic Caucus today named 20 Democrats, including 13 returning members and seven new members, to the House Agriculture Committee.
The Democratic members on the committee are: Ranking Member Collin C. Peterson, Minnesota;Tim Holden, Pennsylvania; Mike McIntyre, North Carolina; Leonard Boswell, Iowa; Joe Baca, California; Dennis Cardoza, California; David Scott, Georgia; Henry Cuellar, Texas; Jim Costa, California; Timothy J. Walz, Minnesota; Kurt Schrader, Oregon; Larry Kissell, North Carolina; Bill Owens, New York; Chellie Pingree, Maine; Joe Courtney, Connecticut; Peter Welch, Vermont; Marcia L. Fudge, Ohio; Gregorio Sablan, Northern Mariana Islands; Terri A. Sewell, Alabama; and James McGovern, Massachusetts.
Agriculture Committee Chair Frank Lucas, Republican of Oklahoma named six members to serve as Subcommittee Chairmen of the House Agriculture Commitee and also released the complete Republican roster for the 112th Congress.
“Our Subcommittee Chairmen have demonstrated a commitment to ensuring the success of American agriculture and rural economies. They are ready to join me in addressing the challenges that farmers, ranchers, and small businesses face across rural America. The next year will be an exercise in educating our freshmen members on both sides of the aisle, providing oversight of the administration, and building a strong working relationship as we prepare to reauthorize the farm bill in 2012,” said Lucas.
Republican members of the House Agriculture Committee are:
Frank D. Lucas (OK), Chairman; Bob Goodlatte (VA), Vice Chairman; Timothy V. Johnson (IL); Steve King (IA); Randy Neugebauer (TX); K. Michael Conaway (TX); Jeff Fortenberry (NE); Jean Schmidt (OH); Glenn Thompson (PA); Tom Rooney (FL); Rick Crawford (AR); Scott DesJarlais (TN); Renee Elmers (NC); Stephen Fincher (TN); Bob Gibbs (OH); Chris Gibson (NY); Vicky Hartzler (MO); Tim Huelskamp (KS); Randy Hultgren (IL); Reid Ribble (WI); Martha Roby (AL); Bobby Schilling (IL); Austin Scott (GA); Steve Southerland (FL); Marlin Stutzman (IN);


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: