ANSC elects new state officers

ANSC officers pictured L-R are Sharon Calhoun, Recording Secretary; Alphonzo Morton, III, 1st Vice President; Dr. Roberta Watts, President and Matilda Hamilton, Recording Secretary. Not shown are Rosa Jernigan, 2nd Vice President and John Zippert, Treasurer.

Alabama New South Coalition elected its state officers at the Spring Membership Convention held recently in Montgomery, AL.
Dr. Roberta Watts, Etowah County was selected as statewide president; Alphonzo Morton, III, Greene County, first vice-president; Rosa Jernigan, Bullock County, 2nd Vice President; Sharon Calhoun, Montgomery County, recording secretary; Matilda Hamilton, Tallapoosa County, corresponding secretary and John Zippert, Greene County, treasurer.
Approximately 100 members from across the state participated in the ANSC Membership Convention held at the Maggie Street Dream Center in Montgomery. The program focused on panel presentations addressing concerns on Impacting our Right to Vote; Redistricting; PAC to PAC Transfers, Voter ID, Budget Impact, Education, Health, Justice and other related topics.
The luncheon guest speaker was the Honorable Mark Kennedy, former Alabama Supreme Court Justice and currently Chairperson of the Alabama Democratic Party.
Kennedy stated that we are at a crossroads in Alabama. “We are shifting paradigms from what does not work to what will work.”